World Squash Awards Nominees

Posted by

Nicol David Heads WISPA World Squash Awards Nominees

Malaysia’s Nicol David is in line to become the WISPA Player of the Year for the sixth year in a row according to the nominations for the 2010 World Squash Awards submitted by the Women’s International Squash Players’ Association.

But the 27-year-old from Penang, who began her sixth year at the top of the WISPA World Rankings this month, will face still competition from former Dutch winner Vanessa Atkinson and Australia’s Kasey Brown, winner of three medals in last year’s Commonwealth Games.

The sixth annual World Squash Awards will take place for the first time in the stunning Vanderbilt Hall in Grand Central Terminal, New York, on Thursday 20 January.

The awards, founded in 2005 by Eventis Sports Marketing and endorsed annually by WISPA and the World Squash Federation (WSF) and the Professional Squash Association (PSA), will be presented by Lexington Partners and take place the night before the JP Morgan Tournament of Champions takes centre stage in the same location.

The full list of WISPA nominees (in alphabetical order) is as follows:

Player of the Year:
Vanessa Atkinson (Netherlands)
Kasey Brown (Australia)
Nicol David (Malaysia)

Young Player of the Year:
Nour El Sherbini (Egypt)
Nour El Tayeb (Egypt)
Amanda Sobhy (USA)

Most Improved Player of the Year:
Kasey Brown (Australia)
Nour El Tayeb (Egypt)
Raneem El Weleily (Egypt)
Joelle King (New Zealand)
Low Wee Wern (Malaysia)


Nicol David, Founder
Squash Stars is a social media effort designed to support women squash with the ultimate aim of promoting the sport for the Olympics.Nicol David, Founder

Our Mission

To spread the joys of Squash. Get to know the women behind the racquets. Squash Stars is represented by a Star Ambassador from each country.

Follow Us

Copyright © 2012 Squash Stars Sdn. Bhd. All rights reserved.